Moving forward

There is still a lot to do, but the last week has seen some progress towards my now-confirmed place on the start line. I completed my medical exam, including blood tests (red), a cardiac stress test (“how much longer do I have to do this?” – “just a few more minutes”) and an echocardiogram (heart still beating, so that’s nice to know). I should get the reports this week, then I’ll send those to the race doctor. Both the doctors I saw were really surprised at the tests that were required. I guess the organisers don’t want us keeling over when the conditions get sporty.

I also sent my second and final payment to the organisers last week. Another box ticked off on the “to do” list.

I’ve been looking into accommodation in La Rochelle, Funchal and Salvador. I’m not sure if the family is going to be able to come to any of the start/stopover/finish ports, so I’ve arranged to share with a couple of other skippers – Ulf from SWE772 and Dan from FRA617. More on that (and them) in another post. Prices are pretty reasonable in La Rochelle and Funchal, but Brazil seems really expensive – and probably not the kind of place where I want to look for a budget hostel.

I also have to sign a waiver in order to participate in the race. I guess some of the language in the waiver is aimed at highlighting to the skippers that this is not an endeavour to be taken lightly. There is one sentence that really stands out (it is in bold type, so they really make sure it stands out): “Consequently, through my own will and consent, I hereby make the decision to take on and accept all risks related to my participation in the Transat 6.50 2011, and in particular the risk of being killed – which I consider as a normal risk in such a race.”

Nice. I guess I’ll have to sign and send that off as well, but don’t tell my wife (or mother) that I consider that being killed is “a normal risk” for the race!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment