I’m in!

In my last post I mentioned that I was on the waiting list for the Transat, and that all the skippers on the waiting list had written a joint letter to the organisers to ask that they add some places. I don’t know how much of an effect our letter had, but today the organisers and the Classe Mini announced that they have added 12 places. As there were 12 of us on the waiting list we are now all IN!
So my status has changed from “hoping to race” to “got to prepare”.
There is a lot of work ahead, and just thinking about it is intimidating. I’ve got to do all the nav work, provision the boat, get some repairs done, calibrate and test the new (backup) autopilot, change a few lines, decide what spares to buy (probably a spare spinakker pole, for example) – the list just goes on and on. I also have to do a lot of logistics preparation – arrange accomodation in La Rochelle, Funchal and Bahia; figure out when I’m going to delivery the boat down to La Rochelle; figure out how I’m going to get the cradle to La Rochelle; see whether it is possible to get some things (tools, equipment, spares) sent to the stopover in Funchal. Complete my medical tests, send the entry fee to the organisers, arrange insurance …….
There, I’ve got the beginning of a list already!
Anyway, it is nice to know that the uncertainty has gone, and I can focus on preparation.

And here it is – the latest list from the organisers, with me on the “Inscribed” list at number 80
Entry List

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “I’m in!”

  1. Ancient Mariner Says:

    Congratulations Bruce, I’ll be watching your progress with great interest.
    Cheers, and memories of your early training in “Summer Dawn” !

  2. Colin G Says:

    That’s fantastic, great news!

  3. Jerome S Says:

    Congrats ! Great to know that the good ol’ 529 is going to cross the Atlantic


Leave a comment